back to homepagee-mail us!search!play the game!share your story!the Living Africa
go to: the peoplego to: the landgo to: wildlifego to: national parks

cities of Africa
ethnic groups
arts and crafts
cities of africa
arts and crafts
multimedia specials

the people (back to intro)

Lagos, Nigeria

Until 1991, Lagos was the capital of Nigeria. Today, this city is still of importance, being Nigeria's largest city. This city still has the roots of many government bureaus.

Around the latter part of the 15th century, the Yoruba fishermen and hunters had already settled in the area, and called it Oko. Moreover, the kingdom of Benin dominated this area, which they called Eko, from the 16th to the 19th century. The Portuguese first explored this city in the late 1400s and named it Lagos. They ultimately collaborated with the local kings or obas to begin slave trade, which continued until 1851, when the British, trying to quell the slave trade, launched a naval attack , and dethroned the oba. The slave trade continued until 1861, when it came under British control. From 1866 to 1874, this city was a part of the United Kingdom's West African Settlements, after which it became a section of the Gold Coast. In 1906, it again became a part of Nigeria; in 1914, it's capital. In 1960, Lagos was named the capital of Nigeria after gaining independence. It was replaced in 1975 as the state capital of Lagos by Ikeja. In 1991, Abuja replaced it as the national capital..

In the southwest part lies the business section of the city, with its skyscrapers. This is where commerce, finance, administration and education flourish. The region contains many universities, libraries and the National Museum. The city has a population of over 1.3 million people.

[ Western Africa - Northern Africa - Eastern Africa ]
[ Central Africa - Southern Africa - the African Islands ]

©  Copyright 1998, ThinkQuest team 16645
All rights reserved.