Results are in…The 2014 National Teaching Awards Winners


Submitted by Omashani Naidoo of SchoolNet

The National Teaching Awards has, since 2000, sought to pay tribute to South African teachers who work daily miracles at their schools. The 2014 National Teaching Awards was held on the 6th March at the Birchwood Hotel in Gauteng. The awards culminated in a night of wonder for finalists who were celebrated by the President, Mr. Jacob Zuma, his Education Ministers Ms Angie Motshekga, and Enver Surty; the Director General, Mr. Bobby Soobrayan, the MECs for Education and a host of South African musical talents.



The following teachers were crowned winners in their categories:

  • Mrs Jaané Roodt (Laerskool Proteapark, North West Province) for her Excellence in Primary School Teaching
  • Mr Adonis Vassos Antoniou (Mondeor High School, Gauteng) for his Excellence in Secondary School Teaching
  • Dr Fannie Sebolela (Khensani Primary School, Gauteng) for his Excellence in Primary School Leadership
  • Mr Tebogo John Maponya (Millennium Combined School, Limpopo) for his Excellence in Secondary School Leadership
  • Ms Abegail Nodumiso Makumela (Hopewell Primary School, KwaZulu-Natal) for her Excellence in Grade R Teaching
  • Ms Wendy Horn (The Settlers High School, Western Cape) for her Excellence in Science Teaching
  • Mr Mashudu Freddy Marubini (Tengwe High School, Limpopo) for his Excellence in Mathematics Teaching
  • Mr Rametsi Senoamadi (Randfontein High School, Gauteng) for his Excellence in ICT – Enhanced Teaching
  • Ms Colleen Smit (ES Le Grange, North West) for her Excellence in Special Needs Teaching
  • The People’s Choice Award was awarded to Mrs Alison Bastable (Durban Girls High School, KwaZulu-Natal)

The Lifetime Achievement Award

This was won by Mr. Marthinus Coetzee (The West Rand School, Gauteng). The 2nd Place winner was Mrs. Kebadirileng Angeline Mogotsi (Ntsweletsoku Primary School, North West) and the 3rd Place winner – Mr. Mbongeleni Mdaka (Lugebhuta High School, Mpumalanga).

Special Awards winners were:

  • The Professor Kader Asmal Award to Mr Andrew Taylor
  • The Via Afrika Publishers choice award to Ms Emily Monolela
  • The Kha Ri Gud e Mass Literacy Volunteer Teacher Award to Ms Ntesang McClean

All winners and runners-up won cash prizes and twelve teachers won a Telkom sponsored computer lab with full internet access and training to the value of over R 200 000. The Winners for the Maths and Science teaching award won two return flights to visit a Maths and Science Academy in Seattle, USA.

Although the awards have a selection of teachers, all teachers need to be reminded of their value and Paulo Freire, in his Conversations on Education and Social Change says.

“The teacher is of course an artist, but being an artist does not mean that he or she can make the profile, can shape the students. What the educator does in teaching is to make it possible for the students to become themselves.”



« Return to Latest News

SchoolNet South Africa is an incorporated Non Profit Company - Registration 2001/012244/08, NPO Number 030-817
and holds Public Benefit Organisation (PBO) Status, in terms of Section 30 of the Income Tax Act - PBO Number 130003557.

Click here to support SchoolNet