starting point
himalayan lands
geologic past
environmental problems
flora and fauna

traveler's corner
guided tour

Data central
search the site
test your knowledge
about the site

Nepal Himalayas

General Info
 ·  Solo Khumbu
      ·  Namche Bazar
      ·  Thyangboche
      ·  Pangboche
      ·  Kalapattar
      ·  Pheriche
    ·  Buddhism in Khumbu
    ·  People: Sherpas

 ·  Mount Everest
    ·  The Quest for Everest
    ·  Early Years
    ·  The 1950s
    ·  Sherpas on Everest

 ·  Central Nepal
    ·  Mustang
    ·  Jomsom
      ·  People: Thakalis
    ·  Muktinath
    ·  Manang valley
      ·  Bryagu village
      ·  Manang village
      ·  Nyasang Division

 ·  Western Nepal
    ·  Jumla
    ·  Sukhadik

Photo Feature:
 ·  Annapurna region

High Altitude Sickness

Endangered Species

Protected Areas
    ·  Royal Chitwan National Park
    ·  Royal Bardiya National Park
    ·  Mt. Everest National Park
    ·  Langtang National Park
    ·  Rara National Park
    ·  Makalu-Barun National Park and Conservation Area
    ·  Shey Phoksundo National Park
    ·  Khaptad National Park
    ·  Koshi Tapu Wildlife Reserve
    ·  Parsa Wildlife Reserve
    ·  Royal Sukla Phant Wildlife Reserve
    ·  Dhorpatan Hunting Reserve
    ·  Annapurna Area Conservation Project


The Yeti Factor

The Himalayas - where earth meets sky
Nepal Himalayas

Protected Areas
Nepal has established seven National Parks and three wildlife reserves for the protection of the endangered species. There is only one hunting reserve in Nepal. These parks and reserves comes under the administration of the National Parks and Wildlife Conservation Department of the government of Nepal. The total area covered by these parks and reserves is 11,001 square kilometers (4,247 square miles). This represents 8% of the total area of Nepal.

Previous Topicmap top of page Index Next Topic
Make a submission View new Stories

© 1997 ThinkQuest team 10131
All rights reserved